A Missed First

When Short Stack was little, I was a single mom. I lived with my parents for some time, but I worked a lot to try and pay off debts to get out if my parents’ house, and I was pretty young, so I was selfish and ridiculous and did a lot of stuff that kept me away from my baby.

I was, however, there for all of his “firsts” but one: his first haircut.

My mother decided one morning that he needed a haircut (which was super true…he looked a bit like a tiny hippie), so without saying anything to me, she took him for a cut. I came home, took one look at my tiny boy, and promptly burst into tears.

So you can imagine my heartbreak when, despite being home with Chuck virtually 24-7, I missed her first haircut. Which was performed without my knowledge/permission.

(One time a month, I’m gone for a roller derby bout almost all day. The Overlord is nice enough to watch Chuck while I scamper about and play with my derby friends and yell at people.)

I don’t know if I’m being unreasonable, but I’m upset. It’s not like Chuck’s hair was life-threatening and The Overlord had to cut it or Chuck would cease to exist.

How far is too far? What would be your “line” you’d draw with your parents/in-laws with what they can do with your kids without checking with you first?

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Michelle
    Jun 13, 2010 @ 11:06:27

    oh no…. I would lose it… I have always had a very strong line… My kids! I am the parent! EVERYTHING goes through me…. Over the years I have had to put parents..inlaws..friends and family members…even sometimes strangers..in their place. I believe it takes a villiage to raise a child…but I think that it can be done without disrespect to the parents.

    Reply

Put your $0.02 here....make it good :)

All images, ideas and text here is property of Mia Cupcake/Bruises in the Frosting, unless otherwise noted. Please do not copy without express permission from blog author.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers

