Stocking my Vegan Pantry

Vegan Chocolate Fudge.

Image via Wikipedia

This is the hardest part of my “transition” to being fully vegan.

Especially since noone else in the house is switching.

So I’m confronted with a pantry full of forbidden non-vegan ingredients when I am searching the kitchen desperately for something to eat. I feel like I should stick red dots on everything that’s Vegan-Approved so I can just scan the fridge and look for the dots. (That’s not a bad idea…..*putting “red dots” on the grocery list for today*)

SO! In the spirit of sharing my journey to a plant-based diet, here’s my list of things I need to get at the store today (not including the TOTALLY non-vegan cake ingredients I need to buy for my wedding cake this weekend…). It’s probably a good thing I don’t live near a Whole Foods so I can support my local Co-Op!:

  • Veganaise
  • Fruit. Lots and lots of fruit.
  • Veggies. LOTS OF VEGGIES.
  • soy yogurt
  • Tofutti “Better Than Cream Cheese
  • lentils
  • Herbamare
  • “butter”
  • Green Goddess dressing
  • agave syrup
  • “cheese”
  • silken & extra firm tofu
  • spinach pasta
  • “sour cream”
  • garam masala
  • Ener-G egg replacer
  • corn chips
  • tortillas
  • bagels
  • ezekiel bread
  • Coconut Bliss ice cream? (if I can convince Mille to splurge on this, since she’s buying the groceries!)

And this whole vegan switch is making me want to go to Portland. REALLY BAD.

Resources:

  • Grant Butler with the Oregonian went vegan for a month. Great article on stocking the vegan pantry here.
  • Abby Patten, a twitter friend of mine, helped me out and sent a me a LOAD of suggestions, from books to check out to recipes to blogs to specific brand foods to try
  • Great blog posts on what you need to have on hand in your kitchen here and here and here
  • Nice article from Vegetarians of Washington on what you need in your diet and why.
  • Great site on veganism, killer list on what non-perishables you need for your vegan pantry, and books and tools as well.
1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Tweets that mention Stocking my Vegan Pantry « Bruises in the Frosting -- Topsy.com

Put your $0.02 here....make it good :)

All images, ideas and text here is property of Mia Cupcake/Bruises in the Frosting, unless otherwise noted. Please do not copy without express permission from blog author.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

