Thank you for (not) Smoking.

"For MENTAL and PHYSICAL exercise... play...

Image by TheeErin via Flickr

So I joined a pretty awesome group of ladies. Super supportive and great cheerleaders, without being scary and perky and waving pompoms at you while you’re trying to wallow in your own self-pity.

And I’ve decided to start making small changes to make myself a healthier me. The healthiest me that I can be.

I am starting small because I have tried MANY MANY times before (anybody remember #tweightloss?) to make too many big changes at a time. And this time, I’m not in it for the quick weightloss. I don’t have a time limit on when I need to lose this weight by. (i.e. I need to lose weight by next week because I will be photographed and seen by a whole lot of people who saw me last year at this time when I weighed almost 40 pounds less.) I want a PERMANENT change!

SO! Small steps. This week, my small steps were:

  1. Smoke less.
  2. More water.
  3. Less junk food.

And with the small exception of yesterday, I stuck to it. I smoked two or less cigarettes a day (down from almost a whole pack.) I drank no less than 50 ounces of water per day. I cut back on my sodas. I only ate fast food once this week, and it tasted so weird that I don’t think I will be doing that again any time soon.

So for next week, I’ll add one or two more goals. And eventually, I will be able to drop the first one or two as “goals”, because they’ll have become habits.

And one small step at a time, I’ll become a healthier person.

On a semi-related note: I found this Grooveshark thing on someone else’s blog, and I like it. I like sharing music and I like hearing about other people’s favorites. So let me know what you think, and tell me if you’ve got someone I should be listening to :)

http://listen.grooveshark.com/widget.swf

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Katrina
    Feb 25, 2011 @ 10:43:44

    Yay! I love this post! Though I’m trying hard not to be one of those perky types..I totally know I can be. ;)

    I love your goals and I know that you can do them. You’ve been doing so well already. Keep it up and before you know it, one and two will be gone and will be replaced by scary things like exercise. Ok, maybe it’s just scary for me..lol.

    Keep it up and you know to shout out if you need any support. We’re all here for you!

    Reply

Put your $0.02 here....make it good :)

All images, ideas and text here is property of Mia Cupcake/Bruises in the Frosting, unless otherwise noted. Please do not copy without express permission from blog author.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

