There’s Something about Derby…

This is how we do it. Also, not entirely sure my helmet fits.

Roller derby makes me feel like it’s ok to wear an outfit like that horrific ensemble to the left there….and that nobody will laugh at me or make me feel like a whale, or point out that my control top pantyhose is TOTALLY SHOWING or tell me that just because Derby Skinz come in a size XXXL doesn’t mean that I should ACTUALLY WEAR THEM.

It allows a girl like me, who is not model skinny and most of the time is hiding in yoga pants and big baggy sweatshirts and hoping to the good Lord that nobody is looking at my VPL or wondering why I don’t brush my hair more often, to feel like it’s ok to wear whatever the hell I want because everyone else is wearing what they want and I can be confident that despite the fact that those shorts are super tiny, they show that I have the balls to WEAR WHAT I WANT, THANK YOU VERY MUCH.

I wish real life was like that. On our way home last night, I hadn’t bothered to change out of the outfit before we got in the car…and we stopped at a rest stop.

The girl who was standing at the sink while I was washing my hands looked at me like I had lost my damned mind, and said “Why on earth would you wear that?”

I wish my answer had been “Because I don’t care what anyone else thinks and I do what I like and what makes me feel awesomesauce”, but I just looked at her and walked out.

Why can’t I have derby pride in my regular life? I sound all big and bad sometimes, but honestly when confronted, I’d rather just walk away and crawl back into my hole and cry. I need to have balls more often. (hahaha)

ANYWAY! This weekend was totally awesome, and will merit its own post, because that ish was BANANAS.

But this past Thursday, I heard from the Scary Doctor and I AM ALL CLEAN OF CANCER. I won’t have to ever see her again (barring unforeseen circumstances) and I don’t have to have another person poke my girly parts with sharp things for another 6 months! I AM SO EXCITED.

And I lost 8 pounds (down to 246), but that’s not as exciting :)

Not changing the goals this week, going to try and work harder on making the first goals HABITS and then add more next week.

HAPPY MONDAY EVERYBODY!

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Megan @mnmspecial
    Mar 07, 2011 @ 17:30:08

    Dude! You totally rock that outfit! I don’t think you could talk me into those shorts at any size, lol.
    Awesome news for being cancer free and on your way to making things happen.

    Reply

  2. Corinna The Great
    Mar 07, 2011 @ 17:34:13

    I think we should all be able to be derby-licious whenever & wherever we want… It’s a reaffirmation of our awesomeness & just plain freakin fun! So glad your C-clean :)

    Reply

  3. miacupcake
    Mar 07, 2011 @ 18:10:03

    What that photo doesn’t show is the pale pink fishnet stockings I’m wearing. Which is too bad, because they are EPIC. :)

    Reply

  4. smallworldbiggirl
    Mar 07, 2011 @ 18:17:14

    You could totally kick my ass, with or without the hot, shiny shorts!
    What the french toast, girl in the bathroom!? Screw her, I’m sure you looked hot!
    Congrats on the loss!!!!!!!!

    Reply

  5. steedj
    Mar 08, 2011 @ 05:12:50

    Love the fishnets! Congrats on cancer-free!!!

    Reply

  6. April @ Doin' The Working Mom Thing
    Mar 08, 2011 @ 06:05:26

    I think the outfit is awesome. My husband and I were talking about going to see the local roller derby. It sounds like lots of fun. Congrats on being cancer free. That is such a scary disease. Even more reason to get as healthy as possible. Here’s to a great week!

    Reply

  7. CrazyAnya
    Mar 08, 2011 @ 07:11:07

    So happy to hear you are cancer free!! This was a great read, you blessed me today!

    Reply

  8. Lisa @ Crazy Adventures in Parenting
    Mar 08, 2011 @ 10:54:51

    OMGosh, way to freakin’ go! Cancer-free, baby! Woot! And no sharp things in the girly parts is icing on the proverbial cake!

    And you totally ROCK that Derby outfit. Forget that chick in the washroom, yo. She’s just mega JELLUS she can’t pull it off herself. Word.

    Reply

  9. Homemom3
    Mar 08, 2011 @ 11:35:48

    I wish I could be more mean sometimes. I am like you on that, I would rather just turn invisible. Congrats on being cancer free, that’s awesome. :)

    Reply

  10. vyxen
    Mar 12, 2011 @ 22:55:48

    Most importantly – ‘grats on the big-C free. So something to celebrate.

    Now. I’m sorry I’m just jumping on in here, but I came across this a bit randomly (following #rollerderby hashtags on Twitter – and then blog jumping). I JUST got home from attending my first bout and what struck me as most important is what you’ve just outlined! What I LOVE about burlesque is that all ages and sizes of women can get up on stage and rock it. They’re sexy, stunning and all around amazing. This is what blew me away about derby tonight. All of the bullshit social constructs about how we “should” look are left at the door. (As they should be – they’re completely unrealistic and inane.) I LOVE roller girls. Love them.

    You are amazing and you ROCK the track. Rock on lady. Rock. On. :)

    (Great blog!)

    Reply

  11. Zoom kaboom
    Aug 28, 2011 @ 17:03:31

    I was perusing derby skinz for myself and second guessing bc I am not a skinny minnie and googled xxl derby skinz to see, and 1) you look fantastic in them and 2) the message (not just the pic of you looking lovely) convinced me to do it!! Thank you! Xo, zk

    Reply

Put your $0.02 here....make it good :)

All images, ideas and text here is property of Mia Cupcake/Bruises in the Frosting, unless otherwise noted. Please do not copy without express permission from blog author.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

