One of These Things May Not Belong…

I have inadequacy issues sometimes.

Like most of America.

I got to go to a really cool party at Jessie’s store yesterday, and I’m still not sure how I ended up there. Dawn invited me, and things just happened to fall into place to allow me to go. I met Steph from Stephmodo, and Megan from Not Martha (who I may or may not have tried not to fawn over…she’s awesome). I got to see my new BFF Tania from Love Big, Bake Often (who went to the DOH office and got my massage license renewed for me so I can work, and I am FOREVER GRATEFUL) and Jenny from Jenny’s Cookies (who I met at Java Cupcake’s party in December) and of course, one of my favorite people….Jessie from Cakespy.

(I forgot my camera at home. So I’m hoping somebody posts pictures. Like Dawn.)

And I promptly felt very small and very weird and very unaccomplished.

Jenny has been working with a pretty big celeb on a project that I’m not sure I can talk about. Jessie is writing a book that I got to see a part of and I am so very excited about it that I may or may not have asked 9 zillion questions. Steph (and her family) renovated a medieval cottage in France and is going back to spend Easter there. Tania is one of the coolest bakers I know and a military mom and 19 different kinds of awesome. Dawn throws the most amazing parties ever. Megan is a baker and a photographer and she’s funny and she’s super smart and she made the coolest rainbow cake EVER (you HAVE to go look at it).

And then there’s me.

I talk too much to cover the fact that I’m shy and really nervous around “new people” and sometimes I bake, but I usually don’t blog about it and I spend a lot of time Facebooking and tweeting. So you’ll understand why I felt a bit odd.

So I sat down last night and started to make a list of all the reasons I am awesome in my own way. And there were a lot.

Sometimes that’s all it takes. Jessie wrote on my Facebook wall that she thinks I’m swell, and that helps too :)

Here’s your homework for today: write a list today of 10 reasons why you think you are awesome. And then when that’s done, write one for a friend. Or your kiddo. Or your husband. And then give it to them!

It’s always good to tell others how much you appreciate them and why. They can’t read your mind ;)

Related Articles

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. smallworldbiggirl
    Mar 25, 2011 @ 18:13:26

    Dooood! My mom totally made me make a list of 5 good things about myself whenever I was having a ‘moment’. Holy memories.
    Mia Cupcake, I only know you through twitter and blog stalking, but I have to say, I think you’re pretty BA. :)

    Reply

  2. Sandra @creativebug
    Mar 26, 2011 @ 10:36:44

    Love this piece. Isn’t it amazing how little effort it is to come up with a list, yet we walk around with all of the negative self-talk, etc.?! Glad you posted about this, it is comforting to read about how other people feel like this at times, too!

    Reply

  3. cathyswraps
    Mar 28, 2011 @ 14:54:57

    And then there’s you. Hello, that’s it! You welcomed me at the Cupcake Bash when I didn’t know a soul and felt very small and out of place. You made me feel welcome and included. I’m thankful for you.

    Reply

Put your $0.02 here....make it good :)

All images, ideas and text here is property of Mia Cupcake/Bruises in the Frosting, unless otherwise noted. Please do not copy without express permission from blog author.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers

