Rooty Tooty, Fresh and Tofutti!

Tofu

Image via Wikipedia

I don’t eat a lot of red meat, so tofu usually fills in that void in my diet.

Recently, Richard from Tofu Xpress sent me one of their sweet little devices to try out. I was a little skeptical about the benefits of squeezing all of the liquid out of tofu….isn’t the point of tofu to be a meat replacement? And don’t you kind of WANT your “meat” to be moist?

So I did some research. Read a bunch of tofu recipes (normally I hand Chef the tofu and say “abracadabra!” or something equally odd and he makes it into food for me). Figured out that YES you DO want to squeeze the water out of tofu.

photo from TofuXpress.com

This makes room for the marinade to soak into the tofu, since tofu itself doesn’t really have a taste, per se. When you press the water out of the tofu, it also changes the texture of it, making it easier to grill or bake.

Enter the Tofu Xpress.

I checked out a couple of homemade ways that you could squeeze all of the water out of the tofu….but since you kinda need to refrigerate the whole shebang while pressing, they weren’t really convenient. Or a good use of your kitchen items, as shown to the left there….

So here’s how you work the TofuXpress:

  1. Take your tofu.
  2. Put it into the bottom half of the TofuXpress.
  3. Press the top half on and rotate until locked.
  4. Put in the refrigerator.
  5. Done.
No need to build a tower of bowls, no tofu water all over your counters, done.
Just pour out the water and that’s it. Simple, right?
You can also use it to squeeze your frozen chopped spinach, chopped onions, sliced eggplant…you can use it to make vegan cheese too (make sure you use the optional Light Tension Spring to do that last one)! We used it to squeeze the water and gunk out of a can of black beans a few days ago.
So if you eat tofu, I’d totally recommend looking in to getting one. It’s a pretty handy gadget to have.

I received a Tofu Xpress from TofuXpress.com to review for my blog. No other compensation was provided for this review.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ARDELLd
    Apr 17, 2011 @ 11:34:49

    Excellent review! Makes me want to run out and buy one! Can’t get any better than that.

    I only eat Tofu in my pho from Than Bros, but I really like it. I especially like the peices that are soft on both sides vs “rind” on one side. Not sure why most of the ones in my pho have so much rind.

    For that reason I have considered making tofu myself.

    Good job on this review!

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Fennel and Spinach with Tofu | Alison Amazed

Put your $0.02 here....make it good :)

All images, ideas and text here is property of Mia Cupcake/Bruises in the Frosting, unless otherwise noted. Please do not copy without express permission from blog author.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

