A Cupcake Manifesto

Martha Stewart Living Omnimedia

Image via Wikipedia

According to Wikipedia:

a manifesto is a public declaration of principles and intentions, often political in nature. Manifestos relating to religious belief are generally referred to as creeds. Manifestos may also be life stance-related.

I have been kind of floundering around trying to figure out what to do lately. I have big ideas and no clue how to go forward with them.

So I am creating a manifesto for this blog. That way, I will know what to write about when I get stuck.

Hopefully.

SO……

  • I will continue to complain about my in-laws, brag about my kids and my fiance and generally be awesome whenever I feel like it.
  • At least once a month but no more than once per week, I will host a review/giveaway.
  • I’ll keep talking about roller derby. In fact, I’ll talk about it more often. (Hopefully will have some exciting derby-related news for you within the next few months…)
  • Once a month, I’ll make something or cook something from the new issue of Martha Stewart Living. Just to prove it can actually be done.
  • I will post at least three times a week.
  • I will make something crafty once a month (other than the Martha piece) and show you how to do it.
  • I will post at least 3 recipes a month.
  • Once a month, I will post about one of the kickass places near where I live. There are a lot of them.
  • I will continue to post about my weight loss journey, since I have 50 pounds to go!
And some basic guidelines for me (and for you to expect!):
  • I will take more/better photos for you guys.
  • I will be making more stuff and taking more pictures.
  • I will continue to be random and awesome and me.
  • I will not be turning this into a foodie blog, but I will talk about food more often.
  • 100% more dancing.

I’m hoping eventually I will get a new camera, but for now, I will have to figure out how to make my point-and-shoot work better.

So now that I’ve talked all about myself, I will say this: HAPPY MONDAY! :D

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ARDELLd
    May 16, 2011 @ 11:01:00

    I feel like I just watched someone give themselves 40 lashes. You are too hard on yourself! Remember this…we like you just the way you ARE!

    That said, everyone is moving to point and shoot cell phone pictures, especially for blogging. It’s not in the taking, it’s in the editing. Whether you use a great camera or a cell phone, you need to resize (for a full photo on this blog you usually need to resize to 600 from right to left) and add light, crop, etc… You can make the alteration right on your blog by adjusting the size in the html code. (call me for instruction on that if you need it-simple really)

    There are plenty of places to do this quickly. I am using Picasa right now because it came with my laptop. I used HP Image Zone before that because it came with my computer. A good online free source is http://www.picnik.com/

    You don’t need an expensive camera or expensive photo editor for blog photos. Email or call me anytime you need “photo” support. I’m not a photo expert…but I do a lot of photo processing for my blogs.

    I think we can easily check that off your “to do” list. Just take a picture with your phone and email it to me and I will return it in “blogworthy” format to get you started.

    Reply

  2. Crystal
    May 16, 2011 @ 15:34:09

    I suck at taking pics myself, but all the “make your blog better” stuff says to include them. So, it’s either start taking them or spend an hour surfing the web for pic and hoping and praying they aren’t some copyrighted image that’s been misplaced.

    Bring on the derby stuff. I was on my way to being an NSO for the Angels of Anarchy down her in SC and my husband was gonna ref. It didn’t work out cause we can’t afford the trips to away games and such right now, but I STILL love it. :)

    I agree with Ardelld, though. You are too hard on yourself, and we do like you the way you are (although I must admit I’m kinda excited to see what you come up with on some of that).

    For the weight loss journey….well, maybe you’ll get me re-motivated. I love my dad, but he can suck the motivation right out of me about stuff. I was doing 5 miles a day on the stationary bike and feeling pretty good about it, then he made it a point to tell me that that’s not “really exercise” cause it’s not a “whole body” workout. I’m like “Geeze, Dad, I’m FAT, give me credit for trying at least!” and stopped doing anything and started depression eating again. (I’m staring accusingly at the almost empty bowl of dry honey-nut o’s i’ve been sitting here munching on).

    ANYWAY, loved your post, can’t wait to see what else you come up with. Just do us all one favor….keep being Mia and keep being awesome!

    Reply

Put your $0.02 here....make it good :)

All images, ideas and text here is property of Mia Cupcake/Bruises in the Frosting, unless otherwise noted. Please do not copy without express permission from blog author.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers

