Mamavation Monday: Post-Apocalyptic Workouts

Fruits and vegetables from a farmers market. c...

Image via Wikipedia

So as I hinted to in my last post, I had a pretty big week. I had a giant explosion of “OMG” and have been dealing with the resulting fallout.

And often in times like these, people (like the “Old Me”) seek comfort in food.

New Me has a different approach. All veggies.

I ate a lot of veggies this week. And I put a lot of stuff in jars. I’ve discovered that if I am feeling bad, I don’t necessarily want to EAT food, I apparently want to CREATE it.

So I made yogurt. And cheese. And bread. And Rhubarb BBQ Sauce. And more jam.

And all of that movement through the kitchen (even though I didn’t work out a stitch) and cleaning the house and moving furniture and generally not doing a lot of sitting down….I maintained this week.

No loss, no gain.

Usually when I hit a point of stress (and this is the most stress I’ve been under since I worked at The Evil Empire), I expect to gain at LEAST 10-15 pounds. If not more.

So maintaining is a good start.

And now I’ll work on getting workouts in to my schedule. And making sure I continue to do good things for my body.

Because my body is NOT A TRASH CAN. I need to stop putting garbage in it.

Hope you all are having a fabulous week!

Side note: whomever created glittery bathtub “crayons” should come over to my house, look at my sparkly bathtub, my glittery Twilight vampire baby and the side of my face (which seems to have broken out in a glittery rash) and tell me that glitter belongs in the hands of toddlers.

That is all.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. pauline
    May 30, 2011 @ 00:55:07

    i love that. your body is not a trash can. MY body is not a trash can. Rinse. And repeat.

    Reply

  2. Andrea Kruse (@notimeMom)
    May 30, 2011 @ 09:34:11

    Glad you had a good week. I will be canning as soon as local produce is ready, too. We usually can and freeze a few 100 jars worth of goodies to enjoy for the rest of the year.

    As I have said before, cooking and baking is my release. The best part is it can be healthy both for my soul and for our bodies! Have fun creating. …homemade Mozzarella is my favorite summer treat… along with basil and tomatoes from my garden.

    Reply

  3. Greta
    May 30, 2011 @ 09:34:27

    Oh no I hope you’re okay.
    I love your discovery about wanting to CREATE food! I was having some stress yesterday and noticing that my mind was like “I WANT PASTA!” and while I was aware of that and trying to change it, I didn’t quite succeed in not eating in a slightly compulsive way…I was slightly aware, which was a good change in the right direction.

    Hang in there!!

    Reply

  4. Megan @mnmspecial
    May 30, 2011 @ 13:50:45

    Glittery bathtub crayons…Have to say they would be the first thing in the trash followed by moon sand…just sayin…

    I love that you have taken solace in creating rather than consuming. I wish I was at that point, but I need to fall in love with my kitchen (and have this baby).

    You are an amazing wonderful woman/mom. I am proud to know you the little bit that I do. You are doing a great job dealing with the stress and not turning into Oscar the Grouch ;) (ie:trash can)

    Reply

  5. kia
    May 30, 2011 @ 21:22:31

    I saw you going on about cheese and yogurt and thought it was simply the holistic wise woman traditions of doula life, hippie living. I am glad you are playing in the kitchen and creating vs. shoveling it in your “pie hole” in times of stress. I hope this week is much better. HUGS.

    Reply

  6. Sandra @creativebug
    May 31, 2011 @ 07:59:45

    Yay! Maintain! :) I feel like I am heading into the same mode, getting stricter with my diet if I am too busy to break away and work out at the level I would like to be. I found myself eating a horrible, gluten-laden, enriched white flour cookie from the local bakery this weekend after an emotional week and immediately after I became upset with someone. I stopped myself (for a second) and thought, “WHAT am I doing?!” I’ve really come so far if I can identify like that. Ok, I had the cookie and paid dearly for it. I was treating my body like a trash can at that moment and I realized I should be treating it so much better than that if I’d had a rough week! Thanks for the reminder!

    Reply

  7. MrsFatass
    May 31, 2011 @ 09:03:24

    Maintaining is a HUGE victory! And I cook when I’m stressed too. I make pasta with a hand crank. Like a crazy person. But I always feel better after. Do you? And can I have your recipe for rhubarb barbeque sauce?

    Reply

  8. Heather @ Not a DIY Life
    May 31, 2011 @ 11:32:48

    Oh, I LOVE being creative in the kitchen!!! Making food is a love language, did you know that? I have it too. I’m working on expressing my love language without tasting as I go along :-)

    Reply

  9. @PamelaMKramer - A Renaissance Woman
    May 31, 2011 @ 18:21:08

    What a great attitude! Garbage in, garbage out. Now if I could just get my taste buds to agree.

    Reply

  10. Stacie
    May 31, 2011 @ 21:17:16

    First of all, I want to say that I’ll miss following you doing your Mamavation Mom thing!
    I think that you did swell with maintaining your weight this week. I love your description of your body not being a trash can, it’s so true! You will do great this week, we’re here for you!
    P.S. That Rhubarb BBQ Sauce sounds so good, I am totally making that for my brother this summer!
    P.P.S. Regarding the Glitter Bathtub Crayons, I agree. The End.

    Reply

Put your $0.02 here....make it good :)

All images, ideas and text here is property of Mia Cupcake/Bruises in the Frosting, unless otherwise noted. Please do not copy without express permission from blog author.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

