Roller Coaster Ride

The Scenic Railway at Luna Park (Melbourne, Au...

Image via Wikipedia

I love people. I’m sure that shocks you.

I love hanging out with people and talking to them and going out into public places and seeing people…I am a people person.

I’ve discovered that it’s hard work to get two kids and a fiance going and the dog out of the way and make sure that the indoor-only cat doesn’t escape and everyone into the car and make sure that I remembered Chuck’s stuffed bunny and sunscreen and a sippy cup and something to entertain Boy Wonder if we have to go somewhere that is SO BORING and it’s rough, yo.

I’m sure my SAHM posse feels my pain on this one.

It’s not easy leaving the house. And it’s so much easier some days to just hunker down in the house with a book or a board game or something not-with-a-screen to entertain the kids instead of worrying that I didn’t bring bug spray or enough snacks or whatever.

It’s a fight with myself whether or not to accept invitations to go somewhere. I would rather stay at home and play in our pool in the backyard or run through the sprinkler and not have to put on makeup or public pants.

Kind of like working out and eating right.

It’s so much easier to buy junk food. Or fast food. It’s the easy way out and I took it for years.

The easy way is usually not the gratifying and healthy way.

But, if you work hard enough at it (and I am), the healthy way BECOMES the easy way. Because it’s easier to teach your kids healthy habits now. And to give them good food so they’re fueled for some good wearing-each-other-out playing.

Being a good example is always the good way to teach your kids!

So for the Mamavation post thingy…the question of the week is What are your current technology tactics in your healthy living journey?

I’m a techno-geek. I have a tendency to go a bit overboard sometimes when it comes to gadgets and such….but so far, the best gadgets I’ve got in my weight loss journey is my pedometer and my iPhone. I use RunKeeper for my walks, a Couch-to-5K app for my Couch to 5K stuff, and MyFitnessPal for meal tracking.

I find it’s easier to do this with less stuff :)

HEY LORI! I lost ONE POUND THIS WEEK!

This post is sponsored by Omron Fitness and I’m writing this to be entered into an Omron Fitness pedometer giveaway hosted by Mamavation

20110807-071421.jpg

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Monica Young
    Aug 07, 2011 @ 19:27:24

    You are right, we get use to healthy things. I am still working on it, but then I read stories like yours, it does give me courage to continue. Hugs

    Reply

  2. Andrea Kruse (@notimeMom)
    Aug 07, 2011 @ 22:02:49

    …sorry, I think my two cents are more like wooden nickles…

    Anywhoo… congrats on that pound darlin’! Yeah… it is easier and boy do I love the feeling of instant gratification from chocolate and junk food. I just don’t care for the way I have been wearing it for the past 5 years. Have a great week! Put some decent pants on, go outside and schmooze with your masses.

    Reply

  3. Megan @mnmspecial
    Aug 08, 2011 @ 02:36:12

    Woohoo for your weight loss this week! I’m totally with you on the crawl in bed in some non public pants and just read. It would be wonderful if life was that easy, but where is the fun in that? You are a great mom! <3 U

    Reply

  4. MrsFatass
    Aug 08, 2011 @ 05:09:52

    Good for you on the loss! That’s awesome. You totally know what you’re doing on this, don’t you?
    Have another great week!

    Reply

  5. Pipi
    Aug 08, 2011 @ 10:09:24

    Congratulations on your loss! I know the feeling of not wanting to put on public pants, but I’ve also been trying to do it more often. My family deserves to get out and about even if I don’t like having to been seen in public, always worrying about if my shirt is hiding what I want it to and so on.
    Congratulations again and keep it up! You are one of the first sista’s I started following and I admire you!

    Reply

  6. Steph @fitmomtraining
    Aug 09, 2011 @ 06:35:41

    We’re supposed to leave the house with our kids? Dang! No one told me that!!! Crap, I guess I need to pack a bag and get the little dude some sunshine and fresh air ;)

    I hear ya, sometimes it’s just easier to take the short path but then we tend to miss the view in the long run so I guess doing the “harder” stuff is the way to go huh :)

    Reply

  7. kia
    Aug 12, 2011 @ 07:01:33

    Hey girlie! I don’t know if you have divulged this… but when are you getting married? Do you two have a date set yet? As far as me and my part-time SAHM thing, I am hardly ever at home. It sounds like heaven. When I am it is pretty busy with the deadline of a meeting or heading to a yoga studio or meeting with a project collaborator who is heading over. My husband is the ENFJ in our relationship.

    Reply

Put your $0.02 here....make it good :)

All images, ideas and text here is property of Mia Cupcake/Bruises in the Frosting, unless otherwise noted. Please do not copy without express permission from blog author.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

