Loving Them as they Fly Away

Sometimes it is hard for me to be happy for people.

I’m getting better, but when my friends are growing and expanding their lives in new and different ways, it’s hard for me to see that them growing doesn’t necessarily mean hey are growing away from me.

So my lesson of late is to be there for my close friends as they buy exciting new houses (if any of you need me, I will be living in my friend Ketta’s kitchen because it’s AMAZEBALLS) and prepare to bring another life into the world, or move clear across the country to pursue exciting opportunities.

It doesn’t mean I love them any less because they are doing things I am financially/physically/geographically incapable of doing.

It also doesn’t mean they love me any less.

So I will keep loving them in my own bizarre way (which involves funny emails, occasional random phone calls and forgetting to text back as well as showing up on their doorstep with food when they’re sick) and accept their love in return.

Because I am worthy of awesome friends, and am truly happy for their growth.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. ginasauce
    Aug 22, 2011 @ 10:56:44

    You are growing emotionally AND shrinking physically. Who’s green with envy over that? This guy, right here. <3

    Reply

Put your $0.02 here....make it good :)

All images, ideas and text here is property of Mia Cupcake/Bruises in the Frosting, unless otherwise noted. Please do not copy without express permission from blog author.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

