It’s all Gruntstyle’s Fault.

So I had my first night of roller derby boot camp last night.

And I was FREAKING TERRIFIED.

I used to be a skater, for about 8 minutes, before I had Chuck. I wasn’t very good and I was totally out of shape, so I sat out a lot. And I was sore all the time. And I hurt myself a lot.

That being my last “real” skating experience (not counting the bout I skated in February), I expected to get out there and just try not to die.

But I did not die. And I actually did quite well (despite a broken piece on my skate, that I did not discover until late in the game….it’s a miracle I didn’t injure myself).

And I didn’t have to sit out.

And this morning, I didn’t have TOO much soreness. (My inner thighs and my butt are killing me though.)

I blame Daniel Alarik from Gruntstyle and his amazing workouts that I’ve been doing on and off. And I blame Mamavation for putting me on the road to being back in shape. And I blame myself for working my best and preparing myself for this, even through the rough personal stuff we’ve been going through.

Could I have done better? Absolutely. But that ship has sailed, and I’m (VERY BRIEFLY) resting on my laurels before I get right back to work.

This week I lost 0.2 pounds, but those were hard-earned. That was a lot of “there is soda in the house and I’m not going to drink it.” And “the kids want to eat out, but I know we have healthy stuff I can fix for dinner.” And “no, I don’t need to have a margarita with friends.” (Although I really wanted to do each of those things.)

Making good choices and strapping wheels on my feet to kick some tail. That’s my health mantra this week :)

So make this week count, and come next Sunday night, think good thoughts for me betwen 5pm and 7pm PST!

20110822-053112.jpg

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. smallworldbiggirl
    Aug 22, 2011 @ 17:33:41

    Woohoo! Less soreness is awesome! And I’m glad you didn’t hurt yourself on the broken skate.

    And congrats on those .2 pounds! They were earned…I don’t know if I could have said no to all of those things.

    Have a great week!

    Reply

  2. Jessica Fiumara
    Aug 22, 2011 @ 17:41:37

    You are my hero for roller derbying. I am so uncoordinated I’d promptly kill myself in short order. And way to go on the healthy choice making!

    Reply

  3. Megan @mnmspecial
    Aug 22, 2011 @ 18:11:21

    Way to skate your butt off! I love the changes you have embraced and put into practice.

    You are awesome and amazing with out even lifting a finger, but you do and thats why we love you!

    Reply

  4. Katrina - @craftsbykatie
    Aug 23, 2011 @ 07:31:59

    You rock, my dear! Look how far you’ve come and you’re just going to get better! Let us know how it keeps going. :)

    Reply

  5. Shelley Oswald (@Momma_oz)
    Aug 24, 2011 @ 09:58:23

    you AMAZE me… #thatisall (and yes, I just hashtagged my comment…)

    Reply

Put your $0.02 here....make it good :)

All images, ideas and text here is property of Mia Cupcake/Bruises in the Frosting, unless otherwise noted. Please do not copy without express permission from blog author.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers

