Hoarders, please cancel my episode.

I absolutely cannot watch Hoarders. Someone mentioned once that they went through some lady’s house and found dead cats. SIX MUMMIFIED DEAD CATS. I would hope that I would NOTICE IF SIX PETS THAT I APPARENTLY DO NOT LET OUT OF THE HOUSE WENT MISSING.

Ok, I’m calm now.

But seriously, I was heading towards being the grand star on an episode of that show. Chef was having to dig through piles to find things, and I could never clean because it was SO INCREDIBLY MESSY and it was starting to put a serious strain on our relationship.

I lived on my own in my own apartment before Chef made his rather grand entrance into my life, and I had all my own furniture and everything.

So when I moved in with Mille, Fille and Chef in their already established house, 15/16ths of my belongings went into storage. And since I had moved rather quickly several times in succession, these belongings were not necessarily sorted in any logical way.

So, at the risk of looking like a total mess, here are the before shots:

Basement before

Bedroom closet before

bedroom before

NOW. Before you call CPS and have Chuck taken away, we hardly ever spent any time in any of these rooms. It was too hard to move around in the bedroom to do anything. The stuff in the basement was out of sight (but definitely not out of mind). I was really depressed because it was such an awfully large job and I really couldn’t do it because how the hell was I supposed to do that by myself??? DID YOU LOOK AT THOSE PICTURES??

I’m fine. OK, moving on.

Enter Harmony Matters. These two fabulous ladies came over and said “It’s not that bad” (which made me feel SO MUCH BETTER) and they didn’t freak out at the sheer enormity of my crap and helped me fix it.

Notice I did not say “fixed it for me“. That’s not the point. The point was to get through all that crap and sort it and get rid of the extraneous garbage I’d been moving around for almost 10 years and put things back in boxes in a logical manner (read: only kitchen stuff in the kitchen boxes and not socks and a random shoe and possibly a book about triathlons) and make the spaceย livableย and workable and AMAZING.

I’m totally flabbergasted (I love that word) that I can now have Chuck playing around in our room and still have enough space to do yoga.

I’ve found the mate to the ballet flat I’ve been looking for for 3 years.

I have a space for all my post-it notes so I don’t have to scrabble through things to find them.

I honestly have not been this clean since I was 16 and my mom still cleaned my room for me.

VIOLA:


Basement storage after (I know where everything is, it’s all labeled and easily accessible)



Bedroom closet after


My personal favorite: bedroom wall after.

AND. Mille & Fille went to the dump Saturday (had to RENT A U-HAUL) and came back, having spent $80 in dump fees. At 5 CENTS A POUND.

That is 1600 pounds of crap we hauled out of this house. (disclaimer: there was a water heater and some other big stuff that was Mille & Fille’s, so not all 1600 of those pounds was mine.)

I am totally floored. I seriously don’t think I’ve ever in my life been this organized. I keep telling Chef ” DON’T MESS IT UP!!!” I just sat in my bedroom yesterday and looked at everything. Was amazing.

Mille asked me for something this morning and instead of having to sit there and think about where it was for 15 minutes, I got right up & grabbed it. YAY!

Anyway, so long story short, I feel so much better. I feel lighter. I feel like I get to start over from scratch and keeping it up is SO MUCH EASIER than getting it there, trust me.

Hope you enjoyed your weekend!!

Update: For those of you able to watch it, looks like Hoarders’ third season is starting next Monday. You’re welcome.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Michelle
    Sep 07, 2010 @ 11:16:38

    So totally Awesome!! Looks Great! It will be so much easier to keep it up… when we did our remodle I got so tired of moving things 300 hundred times and not being able to find anything that I did the same thing.. and… LOVe IT!! It is sort of funny..it has been a couple of years now and my parents and sisters are still amazed when they come over.. and the walk around checking in cupboards… I was always the messy one and now I am all orgainized ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

    • miacupcake
      Sep 07, 2010 @ 12:37:40

      Thanks Michelle! It certainly was a shit ton of work, I’ll tell you that much. We also took 2 carloads to Goodwill and have a HUGE mass of stuff to price for the garage sale…

      Reply

  2. Trackback: Tweets that mention Hoarders, please cancel my episode. ยซ Bruises in the Frosting -- Topsy.com
  3. Trackback: Ranting Thursday: Living with your inlaws sucks. « Bruises in the Frosting

Put your $0.02 here....make it good :)

All images, ideas and text here is property of Mia Cupcake/Bruises in the Frosting, unless otherwise noted. Please do not copy without express permission from blog author.
